Puyvert is a charming little village located between 141m and 615m above sea
level. It has 735 inhabitants.
Agricultural activity is important here, is grown in the territory of the common table grapes, cherries, apples, pears and melons.
Also tasted wines AOC Côtes du Luberon.
Agriculture is attested to Puyvert from Prehistory by the discovery of the site
area of Lombardy of the two "Stèles de Lauris". One is at the Calvet Museum in Avignon and the second is visible at the castle of Lourmarin.
The High Middle Ages in the fifteenth century was Puyvert property of the Benedictine abbey of Saint-André Villeneuve-lès-Avignon.
Early fourteenth century appears the first Lord civil Raymond Puyvert.
The first village was established on the small hill called the Jas de Puyvert and destroyed by the armies of Charles V in 1450.
The territory passed in the fifteenth century to the prayer of Cadenet and Waldensian families came to settle on abandoned land.
In 1545 they could not escaped from the troops of Baron Jean Maynier of Oppede, and Paulin de la Garde. Ruins of the vaud village are on the hill "la Gardette", overlooking the "Aigue Brun" valley.
In 1550, six families of Lourmarin took leased land Puyvert. The village, to its present site, took shape gradually.
The Romanesque church was decorated in 1932 by the painter Pierre Girieud.
The hill "Jas de Puyvert".
The giant pigeon established in the old keep the little castle.